NSA Scholarship Foundation Announces 2013 Scholarship Winners

20 Jun 2013 9:55 AM | Anonymous

Alexandria, VA, June 20, 2013 undefined A total of 39 students are gaining a boost to their college educations in accounting by earning scholarships from the National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation. Together, they will receive $32,700 in scholarship awards.

The Foundation has provided more than $1 million since 1969 to deserving undergraduate and graduate students who are committed to pursuing a career in accounting, helping to develop more qualified young accountants.

The scholarships range from $500 - $2,000. These recipients were selected on the basis of an overall outstanding academic record, demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, stated goals and aspirations, and financial need.

“Many accounting students need money like this to help them achieve their educational goals, and we are pleased to do our part to help them,” explains NSA Scholarship Foundation President Martha A. Bell, EA, ABA, ATA, ARA, “We look forward to seeing them join the profession in the future.”

The 2013 scholarship recipients are listed below with their universities, the NSA Affiliated Organizations or the named scholarships that provided funding, and the amount of each scholarship:

Elizabeth C. Anderson
Brigham Young University, Provo, UT
Washington Association of Accountants: $500            

Anna R. Baines 
Liberty University, Lynchburg VA
Montana Society of Public Accountants: $500

Rachel M. Baker
Southwestern College, Winfield, KS
Oklahoma Society of Accountants: $500

Ellyn M. Bruckerhoff
Missouri State University, Springfield, MO
Steven Desdier Memorial Award: $1,000                              

Brenda M. Canosa
Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT
New York Society of Independent Accountants: $750                               

Allison C. Carroll
Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ      
Arizona Society of Practicing Accountants Merit Scholarship: $2,000              

Nicole K. Cartier
Babson College, Babson Park, MA           
Maine Association of Professional Accountants: $500               

Amy J. Coogler
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL   
Alabama Association of Accountants:  $1,000

Michaela M. Diamond
University of Denver, Denver, CO
Public Accountants Society of Colorado: $1,000

Shelby L. Diehl
University of Nebraska – Omaha, Omaha, NE    
Nebraska Society of Independent Accountants: $1,000       

Annola L. Duke
Rasmussen College: Bismarck, Bismarck, ND       
North Dakota Society of Accountants: $1,000

Taylor M. Erickson
University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, ND
North Dakota Society of Accountants: $1,000

Margaret E. Freeland
Hillsdale College, Hillsdale, MI   
Washington Association of Accountants: $1,000

Vivica A. Futrell
University of Illinois: Springfield, Springfield, IL  
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $500

Kiley A. Greene
Carthage College, Kenosha, WI 
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $700               

Madelyn G. Himmelwright
Southern Oregon University, Ashland, OR
Alaska Society of Independent Accountants: $500               

Matthew J. Halowell
University of Maryland, College Park, MD            

Hunter N. Hoyer
University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO            
Missouri Society of Accountants: $1,000               

James T. Huet
University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Milton Brown Award: $1,000                              

Riley W. Kinser
Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR   
Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $500               

Kevin P. Krautscheid
Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, CA|
Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $500               

Katarina A. Krouse
Concordia University, Portland, OR
Nevada Society of Independent Accountants: $500                        

Stephen M. Kucera
Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS               
Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000             

Katelyn A. Leal 
University of South Florida, Tampa, FL   
Florida Society of Accountants: $500               

Geoffrey A. Lemay
Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL  
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $500                  

Jason D. Moseley
Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, AR            
Ronny Woods Memorial Award – AR: $1,000               

Allison D. Nelson
University of Wisconsin-Superior, Superior, WI 
Millard Ashley Memorial Award: $1,000

Ashley M. Ortiz
Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ      
Arizona Society of Practicing Accountants: $1,000           

Matthew R. Ozturk
Northeastern State University, Tahlequah, OK
Oklahoma Society of Accountants: $1,500               

Jasmine S. Pettaway
Auburn University, Auburn, AL
Florida Society of Accountants: $500

Taylor A. Robinson
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR
Arkansas Society of Accountants: $1,250               

Meryl H. Saunders
University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL
New Jersey Association of Public Accts: $1,000  

Cameron J. Scotese
Rutgers, State University of New Jersey – Camden, Camden, NJ
New Jersey Association of Public Accountants: $1,000   

Hannah G. Sick
Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania, Lock Haven, PA
Pennsylvania Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals: $1,000

Sherman L. Standberry
Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA
Stanley Stearman Award: $2,000

Florencio E. Vera
Roosevelt University, Chicago, IL
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $500   

Ashlynne E. Watts
Auburn University, Auburn, AL
Florida Society of Accountants: $500

Katrina N. Woods
Madison Area Technical College, Madison, WI
Wisconsin Association of Accountants: $500       

Andy Z. Yau
Bentley University, Waltham, MA
Massachusetts Association of Accountants: $500

To learn more about the NSA Scholarship Foundation program or to make contributions, visit http://www.nsacct.org/about/nsa-scholarship-foundation

# # #

NSA and its affiliates represent 30,000 members who provide accounting, auditing, tax preparation, financial and estate planning, and management services to approximately 19 million individuals and business clients. Most members are sole practitioners or partners in small- to medium- size accounting firms. NSA protects the public by requiring its members to adhere to a strict code of ethics. For more information, visit www.nsacct.org.


The National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization formed in response to NSA member commitment to education and the accounting profession. Through its national scholarship program, the Foundation encourages the next generation of accountants by providing financial assistance to college students majoring in accounting.  The Foundation also administers an Educational Grant Program which provides grant funding for the development or enhancement of educational programs, surveys, research and other education activities for those currently in the profession. The NSA Scholarship Foundation, a tax-exempt organization, relies on voluntary, tax-deductible contributions received from individuals, businesses and organizations to fund the activities necessary to sustain its programs.

©2018, Virginia Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals, formerly The Accountants Society of Virginia, 
is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

PO Box 3363 | Warrenton, VA 20188 | Phone: (800) 927-2731 | Fax: (888) 403-0920 | asv@virginia-accountants.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software