NSA Release - NSA Honors Award Winners at 68th Annual Meeting

12 Sep 2013 5:07 PM | Anonymous

Alexandria, VA, September 12, 2013 – Accounting professionals who have made strong contributions to the accounting profession were honored at the recent National Society of Accountants (NSA) 68th Annual Meeting in Indianapolis, IN. Several NSA Affiliated State Organizations (ASOs) were also presented with major awards.

Accountant of the Year – This award was presented to Dave Rancourt, EA, ABA, ATA, ARA, CSA, CEP of Sarasota, FL for outstanding achievement and service to NSA, the accounting and tax profession, the state society, and the community.

Rancourt has been an active member of NSA for nearly 25 years, currently serving as Vice Chair of Federal Taxation Committee 2012-13 and recently appointed to ACAT Board. Rancourt is a past Florida State Director.

Distinguished Service Award – This award was presented to Paul J. Cannataro, CPA, CFP, MST of Drexel Hill, PA in recognition of his significant and exemplary contributions for the betterment of NSA and its membership as well as the accounting profession. The award recognizes continuous service, loyalty, and dedication to NSA. Cannataro is chair of NSA’s Federal Taxation Committee where he has provided services with RTRP legal issues, IRS Closing of Practitioner E-Services, Fiscal Cliff challenges, Circular 230 revisions while attending numerous IRS meetings on Capitol Hill.

Affiliated State Organization (ASO) of the Year – This special award goes to co-winners – the California Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals (CSATP) and the California Society of Tax Consultants (CSTC). CSATP and CSTC recently merged to meet the needs of their CA members. The ASO of the Year award honors the overall achievements of CSATP and CSTC and their work in promoting and implementing NSA programs, including membership recruitment, member services, seminar and education sponsorship, legislative activity, and financial stability.

Best Series of Articles Award – This award was presented to Eric Ewald, Executive Director of Minnesota Association of Public Accountants, in recognition of his significant and exemplary series of articles in the NSA’s newsletter, which helps keep membership informed about what is happening locally and nationally.

Keith Billings Memorial Award – This award was presented to two outstanding ASO publications, including The Montana Society of Public Accountants Newsletter, published by the Montana Society of Public Accountants (fewer than 300 members), and The Oregon Association of Independent Accountants, published by the Oregon Association of Independent Accountants (300 or more members). They are judged according to the importance of topics, coverage of activities, timeliness of articles, format, and overall appearance.

Best ASO Website – This award, which recognizes outstanding Affiliated State Organization websites, was presented to ASOs in two categories. For Division I (fewer than 300 members), the award went to the New Mexico Society of Public Accountants. Its website is provides information about their upcoming education opportunities, a link to financial calculators with 20 to 25 different calculation choices.

For Division II (more than 350 members), the award went to the Independent Accountants Association of Illinois. This website is very user friendly and provides not only information about upcoming education opportunities, scholarship applications and newsletters but also information on the NSA annual convention.

Myron D. Schreibman Award – This award went to the Missouri Society of Accountants for their stellar public relations program, which kept their members informed while expanding the share of voice and reach of NSA locally and nationally. Most noted are reprints of various sources including a Forbes magazine article with the headline “Phil Michelson Wins Historic British Open and Incurs 61% Tax Rate” and an internet report “Smishing: A Serious Identity Theft Scheme.”

For more information about NSA, visit www.nsacct.org.

# # #
©2018, Virginia Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals, formerly The Accountants Society of Virginia, 
is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

PO Box 3363 | Warrenton, VA 20188 | Phone: (800) 927-2731 | Fax: (888) 403-0920 | asv@virginia-accountants.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software