NSA Honors Award Winners at 66th Annual Meeting

15 Sep 2011 10:09 AM | Anonymous

Alexandria, VA, September 15, 2011 – Accounting professionals who have made strong contributions to the accounting profession were honored at the recent National Society of Accountants (NSA) 66th Annual Meeting in Anchorage, Alaska. Several NSA Affiliated State Organizations (ASOs) were also presented with major awards.

Accountant of the Year – This award was presented to Paul V. Thompson, EA, ABA, ATA, ARA, of Alexandria, VA. The award is given to an individual member in recognition of outstanding achievement and service to NSA, the accounting and tax profession, the state society, and the community.

Thompson has been a speaker on tax and accounting issues and is currently Chair of NSA Federal Taxation Committee. He has participated in meetings with the IRS in Washington, DC to discuss tax issues affecting small businesses and individuals. He recently participated on the IRS Advanced Circular 230 Ethics Panel at an IRS Tax Forum and frequently testifies before the IRS representing NSA members, taxpayers, and tax preparers.

Distinguished Service Award – This award was presented to Curtis Banks Lee Jr., ATA, ATP, of Raleigh, NC, in recognition of his significant and exemplary contributions for the betterment of NSA and its membership as well as the accounting profession. The Distinguished Service Award recognizes continuous service, loyalty, and dedication to NSA. He was just re-elected to a second one-year term as Administrative Chair of the NSA Right to Practice Committee, which is responsible for accounting standards, federal taxation, and state regulation and oversight.

Norma Kraus State Director Award – This award went to Christine Freeland, CPA, ABA, ARA, CFP of Chandler, AZ. It recognizes an outstanding state director for excellence in carrying out the many duties of a state director, including leading their state society, recruiting members, promoting seminars, and serving as a liaison between NSA and their state society.

Affiliated State Organization (ASO) of the Year –The Oregon Association of Independent Accountants won this award. This special award was created in 2000 to honor the overall achievements of an ASO and its work in promoting and implementing NSA programs, including membership recruitment, member services, seminar and education sponsorship, legislative activity, and financial stability.

Keith Billings Memorial Award – This award was presented to two outstanding ASO publications, including The Free State Accountant, published by Maryland Society of Accountants, and The Kansas Public Accountant, published by Public Accountants Association of Kansas. They are judged according to the importance of topics, coverage of activities, timeliness of articles, format, and overall appearance.

National Editorial Award – Recognition for this award included two individuals who were honored in separate categories. Gloria Juhl Raney was honored for Best Original Article for her story, "Ethics, Mountain Climbing & Fishing in the Gulf," which appeared in the September 2010 issue of The Kansas Public Accountant. John E. Iacono, CPA, of Iacono and Iacono, Inc., received the award for Best Series of Articles for his series of stories about “Ethics and Ethical Behavior,” which appeared in the Minnesota Association of Public Accountants newsletter, The MAPAN.

Tax Talker of the Year Award – The NSA “Tax Talker” bulletin board is a tremendous resource for tax professionals and has attracted more than 1,000 participants. Of all the contributors, one person has posted over 3,818 responses since 2006, often citing the Internal Revenue Code section that applies to a question and delivering targeted answers, and deferring to others when they have answers that may be more on point. This award went to that person, William Delaney, EA, ATA of Westwood, MA.

Charles W. McAllister Award – This award was presented to ASOs in four categories honoring them for the highest net increase in NSA membership during the past year. For Division I (fewer than 100 members), the award went to the Mississippi and South Dakota; for Division II (100-250 members), it went to Iowa; for Division III (250-500 members), the award went to Florida, and for Division IV (500 members or more), the award went to California.

Best ASO Website – This award was presented to ASOs in two categories. For Division I (fewer than 300 members), the award went to the Arkansas Society of Accountants, and for Division II (300 or more members), the award went to the Washington Association of Accountants.

For more information about NSA, visit www.nsacct.org.

# # #

NSA and its affiliates represent 30,000 members who provide accounting, auditing, tax preparation, financial and estate planning, and management services to approximately 19 million individuals and business clients. Most members are sole practitioners or partners in small- to medium- size accounting firms. NSA protects the public by requiring its members to adhere to a strict code of ethics. For more information, visit www.nsacct.org.

©2018, Virginia Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals, formerly The Accountants Society of Virginia, 
is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

PO Box 3363 | Warrenton, VA 20188 | Phone: (800) 927-2731 | Fax: (888) 403-0920 | asv@virginia-accountants.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software