NSA Scholarship Foundation Announces 2012 Scholarship Winners

01 Jun 2012 4:48 PM | Anonymous
Alexandria, VA, June 1, 2012 - A total of 31 students are gaining a boost to their college educations in accounting by earning scholarships from the National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation.

The Foundation has provided more than $1 million since 1969 to deserving undergraduate and graduate students who are committed to pursuing a career in accounting, helping to develop more qualified young accountants.

The students will receive scholarships ranging from $500 - $2,000. These recipients were selected from nearly 500 applicants on the basis of an overall outstanding academic record, demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, stated goals and aspirations, and financial need.

“We are delighted to see continuing strong interest from students looking to enter the accounting profession,” explains NSA Scholarship Foundation President  Martha A. Bell, EA, ABA, ATA, ARA, “These scholarships will help them reach their educational goals and we look forward to seeing them join the profession in the future.”

The 2011 scholarship recipients are listed below with their universities, the NSA Affiliated Organizations or the named scholarships that provided funding, and the amount of each scholarship:

Joshua D. Anderson
Florida State University – Tallahassee, FL
Stanley H. Stearman Award: $2,000 (Year Two)

Lauren D. Brimhall
Arizona State University – Tempe, AZ
Arizona Society of Public Accountants Merit Scholarship: $1,000

Nicole K. Cartier
Babson College – Babson Park, MA
Maine Association of Accountants: $1,000

Kirsten K. Cerbone
University of Arkansas at Little Rock – Little Rock, AR
Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000

Amy J. Coogler
University of Alabama – Tuscaloosa, AL
Alabama Association of Accountants: $1,000

Robert J. Cope
Lee University – Cleveland, TN
Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000

Mallory D. Coulombe
Southern New Hampshire University – Manchester, NH 
Sidney Weinberg Memorial Award: $1,000

Christine G. Davids
DePaul University – Chicago, IL
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $1,000

Molly J. Diamond
Regis University – Denver CO
Steven Desdier Memorial Award: $1,000

Shelby L. Diehl
University of Nebraska – Omaha, NE
Nebraska Society of Independent Accountants: $1,000

Amy T. Diestler
St. Norbert College – De Pere, WI
Wisconsin Association of Accountants, Inc.: $500

Daniel P. Dunnigan
Saint Bonaventure University – St. Bonaventure, NY
New York Society of Independent Accountants: $750

Shane W. Fairchild
University of Oklahoma – Norman, OK
Stanley H. Stearman Award: $2,000

Athena M. Gardner
University of Central Florida – Orlando, FL
Florida Society of Accounting and Tax Professionals: $500

Sonja M. Gooding
Walla Walla University – College Place, WA
Washington Association of Accountants: $1,000

Kayla N. Henderson
University of Arkansas – Fayetteville, AR
Arkansas Society of Accountants: $1,000

Louis W. Henry
Coastal Carolina University – Conway, SC
Florida Society of Accounting and Tax Professionals: $500

Shelly K. Knox
Everest College Springfield – Springfield, MO
Missouri Society of Accountants: $1,000

Lenka Konecny
Arizona State University – Tempe, AZ
Arizona Society of Public Accountants Scholarship: $2,000

Arienne L. Kvetkus
Quinnipiac University – Hamden, CT
New Jersey Society of Public Accountants: $1,000

Anh Q. Lee
Northeastern University – Boston, MA
Massachusetts Association of Accountants: $500

Kalliopi Makris
Fairfield University – Fairfield, CT
New Jersey Society of Public Accountants: $1,000

Carrie B. Munns
Eastern Washington University – Cheney, WA
Washington Association of Accountants: $700

Lindsey M. Petersen
Bradley University – Peoria, IL
Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $800

Stephanie A. Phillips
Indiana University of Pennsylvania – Indiana, PA
Pennsylvania Society of Public Accountants: $1,000

Sara E. Schneider
Western Wisconsin Technical College – Mauston, WI
Wisconsin Association of Accountants Inc.: $500

Veronica N. Schneider
Northwest Christian University – Eugene, OR
Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $1,000

Hannah E. Stover
Post University – Waterbury, CT
Millard D. Ashley Award: $1,000

Micelle Tawch
Suny College at Geneseo – Geneseo, NY
Milton Brown Award: $1,000

Matthew K. Van Thiel
University of Wisconsin Green Bay – Green Bay, WI
Wisconsin Association of Accountants, Inc.: $500

Holly K. Vaughan
University of Phoenix – Phoenix, AZ
Montana Society of Public Accountants: $500

To learn more about the NSA Scholarship Foundation program or to make contributions, visit www.nsacct.org/foundation and search under “Education” for the “NSA Scholarship Foundation.”

# # #
NSA and its affiliates represent 30,000 members who provide accounting, auditing, tax preparation, financial and estate planning, and management services to approximately 19 million individuals and business clients. Most members are sole practitioners or partners in small- to medium- size accounting firms. NSA protects the public by requiring its members to adhere to a strict code of ethics. For more information, visit www.nsacct.org.

The National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization formed in response to NSA member commitment to education and the accounting profession. Through its national scholarship program, the Foundation encourages the next generation of accountants by providing financial assistance to college students majoring in accounting.  The Foundation also administers an Educational Grant Program which provides grant funding for the development or enhancement of educational programs, surveys, research and other education activities for those currently in the profession. The NSA Scholarship Foundation, a tax-exempt organization, relies on voluntary, tax-deductible contributions received from individuals, businesses and organizations to fund the activities necessary to sustain its programs.

©2018, Virginia Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals, formerly The Accountants Society of Virginia, 
is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

PO Box 3363 | Warrenton, VA 20188 | Phone: (800) 927-2731 | Fax: (888) 403-0920 | asv@virginia-accountants.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software